Conrad takes Charlotte in 358 Opener

The stat sheet may show Ryan Conrad leading every lap tonight, and it would be factually correct in every way. But to say he didnt have his work cut out for him would be wrong. Owen Clark would take quick time, but Conrad would take the heat 1 win, putting him pole for the feature. Payton Talbot would shadow him all race with multiple restarts allowing Talbot challenges. Coming from mid pack was last years champion, Aaron Daeffler, and Andrew Clark, with Eric Tupper following, all eager to get their bite at the apple. But no matter the name on the score card, it was Ryan Conrad who would hold fort up front. On the last lap, though, Talbot gave it his all. Diving low into an unguarded low lane in turn 3, and sliding up in front of Conrad, it looked like we had someone stealing victory from the jaws of defeat in the final few yards. However, Conrad was able to snag some bit on the right rear of his machine and crank the car low to cross over Talbot and beat him in a drag race to the line by .277 seconds for his first career CARS 358 Series Victory!

The rest of the top 5-
1- Ryan Conrad (1)
2- Payton Talbot (2)3- Andrew Clark (13)
4- Aaron Daeffler (14)
5- Eric Tupper (16)

Heat winners were Conrad, Talbot, and Logan Gill.