Kotten wins Charlotte

Wow…. for the 3rd week in a row, we had a nail biting barn burner of a finish! A long run in the first half of the race would see pole sitter Zack Passen lose the lead off the rip to Charlie Ryan, with Gabe Wood shadowing him. Passen would retake the lead towards the middle of the race, however a caution just in the midst of pit stops would bunch the field back together. For almost 20 laps Wood would lead most of the subsequent run, with Miles Crabbe swapping the lead with him for a bit, though a blanket could be thrown over the top 8 cars as they were all nose to tail. Former leader Ryan would collide with Jay Dee Callahan into turn 3, sending them up into Passen and the wall. Chris Cable, Greg Netherwood and Trevor Williams would just barely sneak by, and we’d have a restart with less than 25 to go yet again. On pit road, Crabbe and Wood bumped into their stalls, forcing Wood to come off pit road 7th, giving the lead to Josh Kotten. He and Aaron Daeffler would time their restart perfectly to jump out to a huge lead while the pack desperately tried to sort themselves out. With Netherwood, Williams and former champion Brenden Queen flying through the field, it looked like Kotten or Daeffler were too far ahead. An incident with a lapped car slowed them just enough, putting Netherwood and Williams on their bumpers. Off turn 2 on the last lap Netherwood passed Daeffler and set his sights on Kotten. But he needed another lap or two, as Kotten was able to hold him and the field off for his first win of the season!

The rest of the top 5-

1- Josh Kotten (8)
2- Greg Netherwood (15)
3- Aaron Daeffler (6)
4- Trevor Williams (10)
5- Brenden Queen (7)

Cable wins Rockingham

Another amazing race tonight in the Kevtron Media Classic Cup Series ends in a thriller yet again! Josh Kotten took the lead off the rip as pole sitter Chris Cable missed the shift, and looked like he’d run away with it. Jay Dee Callahan, starting 11th, had other opinions on the matter though. He would run down Kotten and eventually even take away the lead. Green flag pit stops ensued, a few drivers however would take a gamble. Cable, Aaron Daeffler, and Greg Netherwood would take the risk and stay out as there was barely 40 laps to go. With Kotten and Callahan nose to tail trying to unlap themselves, Netherwood made sure he made his mark on the race by slapping the wall and sliding down into Kotten, with Callahan involved. That left the top drivers out of the race for the win, and pole sitter Cable sitting pretty in the front. A few late restarts would see Cable holding off Aaron Daeffler and a final charge by Josh Gayman to collect his first win of 2020 in the Kevtron Media Classic Cup Series!

The rest of the top 5-

1- Chris Cable (1)
2- Aaron Daeffler (4)
3- Josh Gayman (6)
4- Russell Berry (19)
5- Ronnie Potts (10)

Hahe wins Daytona

Well what a way to return to the track….!!! After almost 2 years away from the asphalt, the Kevtron Media Classic Cup Series returned tonight at Daytona. With a car more unstable than most of our ex girlfriends, it was a battle just to keep the tires underneath. A wreck early by Greg Netherwood would limit the pack a bit. And an even bigger wreck just past halfway would whittle the leaders down to 6. The last lap would see Gabe Wood outside of Charlie Ryan into turn 1, but with no one wanting to lift, Ryans car got sideways and would slam Woods door. This would send the entire lead pack sliding into the wall, and Bruce Perry standing alone driving away. But motor damage sustained in that wreck would let Patrick Hahe (yes, that Patrick Hahe) to run him down off turn 4 and collect the season opening victory!!!

We cant wait to see you all back next week at the Rock!