Miller Continues Streak at Darlington

millerdarlCJ Miller once again took the checkered flag at Darlington on Thursday Night.

Miller led Chris Cable, Wyatt Wolfe Jr Dennis Mikkelson and Joey Hilton to the finish.

Next week, the series heads to Richmond International Raceway, which was originally scheduled to be an off week.  However, in order to get synchronized with the NASCAR Schedules, the RaceDay Cup Series will be in action.

Trevor Williams finally hits paydirt at Kansas!

trevorThe SMP Super Truck Series blew into the Kansas Speedway on Wednesday April 16th. Brenden Kohler would set fast time and jump out to the early lead. After a quick yellow involving Derrik Stanley and Kevin Baker brought out the first yellow. A green flag run would see green pit stops. The entire field would make it through before the yellow would fly.  In the end Trevor Williams in the Tide Machine would clean up and win his first win of his career in Can-Am and Upstate Racing League. Finishing second was Nate Bowers followed by EJ ORourke, Mitchell Mumma and Zac Regimbal rounded out the top 5. Next week we head to Charlotte Motor Speedway for 120 laps of intense Super Truck Racing.

Cable tames the Lady in Black, for first win since July ’13!

1980348_728199097232691_5093513815053107184_oAlways one of the fastest qualifiers (and the career leader in poles for CARS with 30), Chris Cable has shown time and again that when it comes to speed, he knows how to get it done. But for the last few years at CARS, he’s also been one that has notoriously been unable to close it out at the end. Despite 13 of his 30 poles coming in the Pro Cup Series, he had but only two wins in the 2 years of its existence. At Darlington, it seemed it would be much of the same. Throughout practice, Cable would pace the field along with Shawn Breitzman, sitting atop the speed charts for the entirety of the session.

But come Qualifying, it would be Jay Dee Callahan, a consistent front runner, getting his first career pole at CARS. He would pace the field early on, trading the lead with Cable, and Sean Casto at times. Unluckilly for Callahan, contact with the car of Nick Sadowski on lap 20 would render his car useless and he would never contend again. Cable, on the other hand, would trade the lead multiple times with Casto over the remainder of the race. Both would lead 33 laps of the race, but with a caution flying at the 2 to go mark, it was Cable who had a safe lead up front, allowing him to secure his first win since July 2, 2013 (Charlotte) and maybe turn the luck on his season around.

Casto would finish 2nd, Nick Silver would continue his white hot streak to start the season with 3rd, Nick Sadowski would finish 4th, and John Hanna Jr would ride a 2-tire pit stop strategy to round out the top 5. The series takes a week vacation before heading to Richmond.

Krikorian takes the victory at home, winning at Irwindale!

1493315_727232537329347_2519748852351673116_oDavid Krikorian knows Irwindale Speedway well. Living in the area and attending weekly, he knows a thing or two about how to get around the .5 mile oval. But he’d have to contend with the fast rides of Austin Stamper and Randy Hedrick, who was making his first start in a few weeks in the MRolfeDesigns Super Late Model tour in good fashion. Hedrick would win the pole and jump out front from the get-go, with Stamper sneaking ahead for the lead a few times before finally settling back in 2nd. Krikorian spent most of the first part of the race trying to bide his time behind those two. But midrace contact with the Stamper machine would send Stamper to the inside wall and then to the trailer, ending his night.

As the laps wound down, Hedrick was holding off charge after charge, dispensing of Krikorian every time. However, Hedrick did not pit for fuel on the last caution, and as such was short. Believing that Krikorian was short as well, he dove to pit road with 20 laps to go. This gave up the lead to Krikorian, who had almost 3/4 a lap on 2nd place Rodney Haack. Given the gap, he began shutting the car off on corner entry, and not refiring until the straights. While this allowed Haack to catch back up to his bumper, Krikorian managed to save enough fuel and made it to the line to get win #1 on the season.

Rodney Haack would tie his career best in 2nd, with Hedrick salvaging a 3rd. Josh Kotten came from 13th to finish 4th, and Bruce Perry would settle for 5th and increasing his almost insurmountable points lead.

Miller Two Steps at Texas

millertexasCJ Miller drove to victory lane once again at Texas Motor Speedway in the RaceDay Cup Series on Thursday Night.  Miller led all but 3 laps en route to victory.

Miller led Chris Cable, Will Harris, Cody Kelleher and John Hanna Jr to the checkered flag.

Miller has control over the standings, followed by Cable, Harris, Wyatt Wolfe Jr, and Hanna.